​​​​​​​​​​Paul R. Glaviano

Fine Art


  • Track 13:36
  • Track 24:51
  • Track 33:55
  • Track 44:54
  • Track 52:28
  • Track 68:10
  • Track 71:34

Runecatcher, an artistic ensemble merging poetry and music in unexpected ways, weaves a hypnotic spell of images and sounds, directly engaging the collective intellect, heart, and spirit of its listeners.  The original poems, composed and recited by Jeffrey Smith, narrate experiences drawn from life, explore mystical and spiritual states, and sing the praises of loved ones and scoundrels.  The musical accompaniment, provided by Paul Glaviano and Tony DeVincentis, draws on a variety of influences, including jazz, classical music, and primitive rhythms.  The result is more intimate and immediate than rock and roll, warmer and more evocative than the unenhanced spoken word.  New listeners tend to find it both strikingly odd and strangely familiar--unsurprising, since shamans and musicians have been doing this sort of thing since long before the advent of civilization.  Runecatcher:  a gateway to the collective unconscious, encountering the bewildering complexity of modern life with one foot in the humble huts of the ancestors.  

     This Compact Disc is a product of our first recording session, conducted in Ben Lomond, California, on February 16, 2014. 

Jeffrey Smith – Original Poems
Tony DeVincentis – Oboe, Flute, Alto Sax, Clarinet, and Keyboards
Paul Glaviano – Native Instruments: Flute and Percussion

1. Discipline 2. Power Scars 3. Incantatory
4. On the Tameness of the Deer at Spirit Rock 5. TROUBLE DOLL6. Thanksgiving 7. For Gale and Gayle